Strawberries and Mondays

Mondays I clean.  I don’t have an office job to trot off too, but I’ve found that hitting the ground running on a Monday morning really gives my productivity a punch up.  Plus, with a designated cleaning day, I am able to stay on top things.  This Monday morning I felt extra energized since Evan actually slept until 6:30! (*bliss*)  The air outside was cool and thin and the a temperature was in the 40’s.  I marked yesterday morning in my mind as “the first morning the air smelled like winter.” You know that wintery smell…clean, brisk and invigorating.  I love mental notes like that.

To kick off my Monday, I started by vacuuming, sweeping and mopping the entire downstairs area and laundry room (necessary once a week at The Farm with a crawling baby).  I am a habitual mulit-tasker, so I made sure to have a loaf of homemade bread rising while I did my cleaning (and, holy cow, the new bread recipe I tried turned out fantastic! But that is for another day of sharing).  I washed all of Jim’s dog beds too, since Evan has decided those are his new favorite play areas.  After getting Evan and put down for a nap, a grabbed the dog clippers and gave Jim his monthly shave…a MUST to keep my sanity, plus Jim loves being clipped up and sleek.

Jim 'pre hair cut' back in our Florida living days.

Of course, Jim’s trim was followed by a doggie bath and a shower for muah.  Forgetting that I had a friend coming over for supper, I made a quick trip to the grocery store for taco fixins in the evening.   My Monday ended with a lovely supper with an old friend, tacos and glass of good red wine.  A successful day!!

At some point during the day (I think it was around lunch time?) I made Evan strawberry baby food.  Strawberries are fun because you can mix them with lots of other fruits and a little bit goes a long way. And (don’t tell Evan) sometimes I use his frozen strawberry food in my smoothies if I’m in a pinch.  😉  If you read my blog entry on mango baby food and thought that was easy, you’ll like this recipe…it’s even easier.

Supplies:

Strawberries

Water

Pan of water and steam basket

Blender or food processor

Ice Cube trays

Start with some beautiful strawberries.

Wash them, remove the tops and cut them into quarters.

Check on your kitchen assistant to make sure he/she is holding up thier end of things.

Place the strawberries in a steam basket.

Steam for 5-8 minutes or until tender (avoid over cooking as these tender berries lose nutrients quickly). Place the berries in your blender or food processor with a few tablespoons of the cooking water. Blend until smooth and dump into ice cube trays for cooling.

Cover your ice cube tray with labeled (or unlabeled if you like living on the edge) aluminum foil and place in the freezer over night.

Boom!  Healthy baby food all portioned out for individual feedings!  Once they are frozen (over night does the job), I like to pop them into tupperware containers for easy access.  And it only takes about 15 minutes to make…easy peasy!

About Jenny

I'm Jenny! Living the biggest version of my life possible and working every day to be my best self. Check out Plowing Forward to learn more about me!
This entry was posted in Recipes, The Farm Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Strawberries and Mondays

  1. iowadogblog says:

    I know this wasn’t exactly the point of your post, but your dog is really cute! And I love the picture of the baby with the bowl on the floor. 🙂

  2. Thanks!! I tell people he’s my first child 😉

  3. What a great idea to designate Mondays as cleaning days! I know my cleaning schedule gets tossed out the window most weeks, so good for you!
    I love your mental note about the first day of winter. I don’t really know that smell living in seasonless California, but I imagine it’s a great smell.
    Great post, especially the part about preparing the strawberries…I did this in the beginning and wish I still had the dedication to making my daughter her own food. Luckily, her grammy makes her homemade applesauce from the apples in our backyard.

Leave A Reply

