The Greatest Rolls You’ll Ever Eat

Say Good-Bye to the canned Pillsbury Crescent Rolls.  Seriously.  I have a found a recipe for rolls so so SO good and easy to make, too…even if you’re afraid of recipes using yeast.  I stumbled upon this recipe a week before Christmas as I was perusing various websites for a dinner roll recipe (every gal should have at least one decent roll recipe in her card box, right?).  I decided to make them to share during my family’s weekly Sunday Night Supper and they got rave reviews.  Every week with JJ and Evan, my Mom, Dad, Brother, Sisters and their spouses/children all get together to stuff ourselves, drink wine and talk about life (or just watch football).  Here we are waiting for these rolls to come out of the oven…no joke.  That’s how good these are.  No idea how or when exactly our beloved Sunday Night Supper tradition started, but I look forward to it every week.  It’s a fun place to share recipes…and dump the baked goods I tend to over-make at my house throughout the week.

But I digress…back to new favorite carb recipe.  I was amazed at how delicious these rolls are (my brutally honest grandmother agreed)!  Just a hint of sweet, very buttery and flakey.  Perfect accompaniment to anything…or to eat by themselves!  And I’m a huge fan of the Pillsbury ones, so that should hint to you how yummy these babies are.  Recipe Credit: AllRecipes.com…my second favorite place to find recipes (see my Ranch Style Chicken post if you’re curious about my #1 recipe site).  So without further ado, here’s the magical recipe that made me a little more popular than the day before I knew about it.

Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls

  • 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm milk
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour

Mix together yeast, warmed milk and sugar. Let it stand for 30 minutes. 

Next mix eggs, melted butter and salt into yeast mixture.

Now mix in the flour, 2 cups at a time.  The dough will look sticky…almost like it needs more flour.  But don’t add it!  Trust me…this recipe is perfect the way it is (Side Note: This is my awesome new Cinnamon colored 6 quart KitchenAid Mixer…not a big deal or anything, buuuuutttt it rocks).

The recipe calls for the dough to be covered with wax paper and rise over night.  However, the rolls are heavier and a lot more ‘yeast-ey’ tasting if you do this (still good, though). After experimenting with rising times on this recipe, I’ve found the best tasting rolls occur after rising anywhere from 4-8 hours in a warm place (still cover with wax paper).  Typically, I make the dough at some point in the morning and it’s perfect by supper time.  The dough should puff up quite a bit.

When you’re ready to bake the rolls, divide the dough in half. Roll each half into a round circles (9 inches)…or awkward shaped squares if you aren’t good at geometry, like me.

 Cut each circle into 12 pie shaped wedges.

Roll up each wedge starting from wide end to the tip. Place on lightly greased cookie sheets, leaving a little room between the rolls as they puff slightly.  You can leave them to sit on the trays until ready to bake.

When you’re ready bake the rolls at 375 degrees for 12 to 15 minutes or until golden on the top.

Don’t they look AMAZING??  If you’d like to jazz up the recipe a little, paint each pie shaped piece with either garlic butter or butter, cinnamon and sugar before rolling them, then bake.  You really can’t go wrong here!  Get creative and enjoy…most importantly…ENJOY! 🙂

About Jenny

I'm Jenny! Living the biggest version of my life possible and working every day to be my best self. Check out Plowing Forward to learn more about me!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave A Reply

