Grab and Go Cake Sandwiches

Recently, I decided to make a carrot cake.  I had found this recipe for Carrot Cake with Brown Butter Cream Cheese Frosting on, you guessed it, Tasty Kitchen.  It looked amazing (like most cakes do) and I had to try it.  Plus, I had never actually made carrot cake before and I thought it would be wise for me to have one under my belt, should the need for one ever arise (you never know when you’re going to need a seriously delicious carrot cake).  Word of advice: shredding a pound of carrots with a cheese grater is quite a bit of work….but its a great arm workout (for one of your arms, anyway).

Here is the finished product…doesn’t it look sooooooooo good?  This was also the first use of my cake stand, a wedding gift stashed away and forgotten about until now.  I think it really adds to the yummy-ness factor of this photo.

In my attempt to make as perfect looking cake as possible, I used a long bread knife to even out the tops of the cakes after they cooled.  Although I was grateful to have some scraps to pick off of for taste testing purposes, I was sad that I had these beautiful cake tops that wouldn’t be used for anything.  The solution came to me when I realized I also had extra frosting (*gasp* Is this really possible?).  I frosted one of the cake tops (heavily, of course) and laid the other on top of it.  Then I used a pizza cutter to slice it into wedges, creating…wait for it…Grab and Go Cake Sandwiches!These actually went faster than the cake, leaving me to think that next time I make cake, I should try to find a way to do the entire cake this way.  So much easier to grab a slice and go AND you don’t have the guilt of eating a whole piece of cake.  Life is so sweet sometimes (pun intended!). 🙂

About Jenny

I'm Jenny! Living the biggest version of my life possible and working every day to be my best self. Check out Plowing Forward to learn more about me!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grab and Go Cake Sandwiches

  1. It looks incredible. Yum!

  2. jennyg82 says:

    I often can’t decide between cake and sandwiches…these look perfect!

Leave A Reply

