Lemon Blueberry Yogurt Bread

I love desserts disguised as breads.  Not quite a cake and definitely not a bread…who could ask for more?  When I stumbled upon this recipe for Lemon Blueberry Yogurt Bread, I was instantly in rapture (props to Rayna for submitting it).  And, the recipe was a success!  I will probably make a few small changes the next time I make this like not going over board on the lemon juice and making sure to bake it all the way through (this one came out a little doughy on the bottom side…I jumped the gun pulling it out).  I may even try to make it with different berries next time (strawberries would be good) or omit them all together.  The lemon-ey taste in the bread plus the moist yogurt base make it really tasty enough on its own.  Just my take on things…this recipe is a yummy idea for an afternoon baking adventure.  Here we go!

First, ingredients:

  • FOR THE BREAD:
  • 1-½ cup All-purpose Flour
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 1 cup Plain Yogurt
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 3  Eggs (large)
  • 2 teaspoons Lemon Zest
  • ½ teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • ½ cups Vegetable Oil
  • 1-½ cup Blueberries, Fresh
  • 1 Tablespoon All-purpose Flour
  • FOR THE LEMON SYRUP:
  • ⅓ cups Lemon Juice, Freshly Squeezed
  • ⅓ cups Sugar
  • FOR THE LEMON GLAZE:
  • 1 cup Confectioner’s Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Lemon Juice
  • 1 Tablespoon Milk* (optional- You Can Just Use More Lemon Juice)

In a medium bowl, mix the flour salt and baking powder together.

Next, in the bowl of your mixer, add the remaining bread ingredients, except for the blueberries.  Mix together.

Now add the flour mixture into the other ingredients and mix.

Once all the ingredients are blended, dust the remaining tablespoon of flour over the blueberries and gently fold in.

Pour into a well greased loaf pan, making sure to line with parchment paper first (I sugared my pan instead of parchment paper…the bottom stuck a little, so definitely don’t omit the parchment paper).  Bake at 350 for55 minutes.  Beeeeaaaauuutiful…..

Now, let the bread cool and make the lemon syrup.  Cook the sugar and lemon juice together in a sauce pan.

Poke holes in your pretty loaf….

….and baste the syrup over the loaf, letting it soak down into the holes.

Last step:  Combine the glaze ingredients and, once the bread is completely cooled, pour it over the loaf.

And now eat it!!! You’ll notice there’s no fork in this picture…and that is because it was in my mouth.

About Jenny

I'm Jenny. Mom. Wife. Crafter. Baker. In Iowa. On the farm.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lemon Blueberry Yogurt Bread

  1. Anita Mac says:

    I love reading recipes with how you would change them! Gives a different perspective – and a different way to try it!! Especially when given with commentary! Some of my favourite recipes are modifications from the original!

  2. Eggton says:

    I love lemon glaze, especially on spice cakes. I’m glad you posted this– it looks delicious!

  3. beginsatsundown says:

    This recipe looks amazing. I love lemon.

  4. Tony says:

    Thanks, I love your page. I’m off now to check out the Banana Bread…getting hugrny, too!Brenda

  5. Shilpi says:

    Nice post. I feel like I lnaered more about the Bakery from reading your post than from going there myself.

Leave A Reply

