Chocolate Amaretto Crepe Cake

This recipe caught my eye on Pinterest, a website you should join if you haven’t already.  If you’re looking for a knock-your-socks-off rich, chocolaty dessert, this Chocolate Amaretto Crepe Cake has your name all over it.  It’s easy (although a little time consuming) and the result is layer upon layer of rich chocolate and crepe based goodness.  I especially love this recipe because within it are 3 fantastic recipes that can be used on their own (crepes, chocolate amaretto whipped cream and chocolate amaretto ganache).  I wasn’t originally going to post anything about my ‘virgin’ crepe cake trial, so I didn’t take any pictures along the way.  In fact, I barely snapped any pictures at all because this baby went so fast.

  However, since it turned out so great and because I had never heard of a ‘crepe cake’ before, I decided to go ahead and pass on the recipe to you, with a few tips you might find helpful.  The recipe is simple, but, as I said, it’s time consuming.  From start to finish, it took me about 2 hours, mostly due to the fact that it takes a while to make the crepes.  After you’ve glanced over the recipe, you might find some of this advice helpful (click here for the printable recipe):

  • As the recipe’s author mentions, you do not need a fancy-schmancy crepe pan to make crepes.  I used a cruddy 10 inch skillet that has been used and abused by not only myself, but every single person that we have ever lived with.  The crepes turned out amazing.
  • Multi-task.  While you are working on the crepes make the whipped filling and put it in the fridge until you’re ready to assemble.  Make the ganache when you are almost done making the crepes so you can move right into the assembly process.
  • Make extra whipped filling.  I ended up making double what the original recipe calls for, however I did have about 1 cup left over.
  • Spread the ingredients evenly.  As you can see in my photos,  my filling got thick in the middle and thinned out towards the edges, which made for not-so-pretty photos.
  • Let the cake set up in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour before serving.  I made the mistake of cutting in right away (but, seriously, who can wait to try something so decadent?) and the texture was slippery and strange.  After refrigerating it overnight, I was amazed at how much easier it was to cut, eat and enjoy.

There you have it and I hope you try it for yourself!!

About Jenny

I'm Jenny! Living the biggest version of my life possible and working every day to be my best self. Check out Plowing Forward to learn more about me!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Amaretto Crepe Cake

  1. DPC says:

    Looks delicious, but I can imagine the time it took just to make each crepe layer. I’m going to be lazy and just admire your photos 🙂

  2. bellegroveatportconway says:

    Those look so good! I am in the process of opening a bed and breakfast on a very historic property in Virginia. It was the birthplace of James Madison. I working on my menu so I am always on the lookout for some great ideas! Great post!

Leave A Reply

