Best Banana Bread Recipe

Banana bread is what becomes of at least half of the bananas I buy.  It’s a horrible problem.  And awesome at the same time.  I love having bananas on hand, especially since they are one of the few fruits that Evan and JJ will both eat.  But there is a short window between “too green” and “too ripe” (guess we are banana snobs), and we are often left with about 2 days to eat a whole bunch of bananas.  The result: a couple black bananas that I can’t bear to waste.  So, I bake.

(Yes…we have horses on our little plates.  Not sure if that makes me really cool, or really lame…I’m going with ‘cool’.)

The following banana bread recipe is THE BEST that I have tried.  I’ve probably made banana bread about 2 dozen different ways and this recipe is consistently the most moist and delicious (I think it has something to do with the sour cream).  My mom gave me a recipe from her church cookbook (which is like a secret arsenal of amazing dishes).  However, I misread the recipe, which turned out to be a blessing in disguise because the small changes I made caused the bread to be extra phenomenal. Good problem to have caused!

First, I must apologize for the lack of picture tutorial on this one.  I wanted to get the bread made before nap time was over and a little boy would be trying to climb in the oven.  Oh the joys…  Second, there is no printable link for this recipe.  Sorry.  You’re going to have to ‘old school’ it and copy/paste it into your word processing program.  I’m behind the times..or ‘authentic’ if we’re being positive.

Banana Bread

Yield: 1 loaf

1/2 c. Butter

1 c. White Sugar

1/2 c. Brown Sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp lemon juice

2 eggs

1 1/4 c mashed bananas

1 3/4 c. flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 c. sour cream

3-4 tbl white sugar (to coat the pan and sprinkle on top)

Preheat oven to 350.  Generously butter and sugar (not flour) the sides of a loaf pan.  Don’t skip the sugar…it makes the loaf slide right out and gives it a nice crust.

Cream butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla and lemon juice together.

Mix in bananas.

Add flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder.

Blend in sour cream.

If you decide to add anything like chocolate chips, nuts or berries, gently fold them in at this point.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan.  Sprinkle white sugar across the top of the entire loaf.

Bake for 50-55 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy! I’m off to play in the sunshine we are enjoying this week…75 and sunny!  Dirt, fresh air and…of course…the Polaris are calling Evan’s name!

What do you mean I need to be 16 to drive???

About Jenny

I'm Jenny. Mom. Wife. Crafter. Baker. In Iowa. On the farm.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Banana Bread Recipe

  1. trialsinfood says:

    Looks yummy! I too am a banana snob. I like my bananas a bit on the green side, while my husband likes it a bit ripe, so it works out. On occasions we have over ripe bananas, I make banana bread, muffins or smoothies. 🙂

  2. Sara says:

    Awesome Recipe.

    I made it the other day for my family and they loved it.
    I also really like this simple banana bread recipe.
    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/delicious-banana-bread-recipe/

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave A Reply

