Snack Packs

Much like his mother, Evan enjoys a good snack while driving anywhere.  During the week, we spend our mornings at the gym and on the 20 minute drive home, I’m in for it if I have forgotten to pack a snack for the little guy.  I used to be frustrated with the annoying task of putting together a bag full of crackers, goldfish, etc when trying to head out the door with all our other garb.  I also wasted a lot of food because the constant opening and closing of chip and snack bags caused them to go stale faster.  Suddenly, I had an epiphany…I decided to make a bunch of ‘snack packs’ ahead of time (a total “duh” moment).  I’m passing this on to you as you may find the trick useful yourself (saves a lot of money over buying the pre-packaged snack packs, too).

Just purchase the snack sized ziplock bags and your kid’s favorite snacks.  Fill the bags as full as you want and place them in a basket or anywhere easy to grab in a time of need.  The ‘car friendly’ snacks we prefer are Mini Club Crackers, Veggie Straws, Goldfish and Mini Rice Cakes (of the cheese variety to be specific).  Throw them in a cute basket or container for easy grabbing-on-the-go and..boom…you have an extra 2 minutes to spare next time you are in a hurry. 🙂

On a quick side-note, I had my super-serious-ultra-dangerous surgery on Wednesday (ie: my outpatient, 45 minute surgery on my wrist to fix tendonitis).  All went well, but I don’t recommend opting to NOT be under anesthesia when given the option.  The local anesthetic hurt like crazy and I hearing the sound of them snipping tissue was enough to make me gag.  Recovery is not so bad, though. I was feeling well enough to attend kickboxing class the next morning…although I definitely didn’t try as hard as I normally do.  I can take the lovely bandage off on Monday and stitches come out next Thursday.  Not too bad!

I know...I look so tough...right?? (*sarcasm*)

About Jenny

I'm Jenny! Living the biggest version of my life possible and working every day to be my best self. Check out Plowing Forward to learn more about me!
This entry was posted in Kid Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snack Packs

  1. Danny says:

    I do the same thing for all my snacks but maybe I should get the half size baggies like you 🙂

  2. I love this idea and really wish it would work where we live! Sadly, we have Godzilla Ants that will chew right threw those ziplocs if I left them in the pantry for like, 24 hours. Those Oxo button top storage (you know the ones that cost an arm and a leg) are the only ones that keep the buggers out.

    Love your blog! Keep writing!

Leave A Reply

