Chocolate Cheesecake Truffles

In the midst of this amazing spring weather we are yet having here in Iowa, I am still finding reasons to make and eat foods that don’t make me looks so good in my spring like clothing.  Last weekend, we went down to south to Winterset to enjoy a day with Rass and Cassie at their farm.  We love having friends like them…we have the same idea of fun in common: sit outside, drive the Polaris or a four-wheeler around, talk about farming (if you’re a guy), talk about how bad we need eyebrow waxes and discuss recipes (if you’re a girl), eat a ton of food and drink a beer…or wine.

The 2 legged gentlemen in my life.

The 4 legged gentleman in my life. Showing off the Labrador Retriever side of himself.

Cassie and Evan weeding the flower pots. Evan picked up on the task quickly, but failed to learn the difference between flowers, weeds and dirt clumps.

 

Despite being in a tank top all weekend and being forced to see the full circumference of my ‘lunch lady arms’ (sorry if I offend any of the fine lunch room work force out there…I’m sure some of you have very toned arms and a strong will power to keep the tater tots on the tray and not in your mouths.  I would not be so strong) I still really wanted to make something sweet this week.  So, Chocolate Cheesecake Truffles it is.

These Chocolate Cheesecake Truffles, found on (of course) Tasty Kitchen, are easy and really satisfy that super sweet tooth when it creeps up on ya. I’ve never made truffles before, so these seemed like a good place to start.  And I like recipes with only a few ingredients.

Begin with a brick of cream cheese.  I softened mine ever-so-briefly in the microwave.

Add the powdered sugar a little at a time.

Mix completely.

Now place your chocolate (my grocery store was out of bittersweet so I used Hershey’s Special Dark chips) in a heat proof bowl and place it over a pan of slowly boiling water.

Let the chocolate melt…

…then add it to the mixer with the cream cheese concoction.

At this point, throw in the vanilla, too.  I wanted to kick up the ‘vanilla’ factor a little so I used this Vanilla Bean Paste instead of the regular-old liquid.  Love this stuff. If you bake a lot, you should have this in your treasure trove.

Now mix it all together. Should look like a delicious, chocolaty mound of happiness when you’re done.

Throw it in the refridgerator for at least 2-3 hours and try not to think about how badly you wish it was ready to eat now.

*  *  *

When the dough is firm and completely chilled, pull it out and form into small balls.  Or large balls.  Heck, I don’t care…you could make medium balls, too! Go crazy…they’re your truffles!

Once made into a ball, toss it in a bowl of your topping choice (I used cocco powder for mine) and roll them around.  Other finishing touches you might choose as coverings: melted white chocolate, crushed nuts, crushed up Heath Bar, chocolate shavings, gram cracker crumbs (to get the full cheesecake effect).

They are even better if you can wait and throw them back in the refrigerator for a while, but I won’t judge you if you can’t wait and feel the need to eat them right away.  I mean…that’s what I did. 😉 Happy Truffling!

About Jenny

I'm Jenny! Living the biggest version of my life possible and working every day to be my best self. Check out Plowing Forward to learn more about me!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave A Reply

