Manure and a BBQ: Getting Ready for the Weekend

The most exciting thing going on here today is the arrival of this hummer:

A large capacity manure spreader…and boy can it fling some poop! 600 square feet of manure can be loaded into it and, within a minute or running the contraption, all the manure is dispersed nice and evenly making excellent fertilizer.  Something of this capacity is much needed with 50 some horses on The Farm.  Especially in the spring when the pastures need some serious TLC.  JJ and Blazer took turns testing it out today.

Important conversation going on here.

I’ll tell you what…the things that excite us around here sure aren’t your run-of-the-mill activities.

The second most exciting thing going on at The Farm is the preparation for our little BBQ tomorrow.  The weather is nice and JJ won’t be in the field (a rare occurrence) so we are pulling out the smoker and having some friends over.  On the menu: Lots of Ree Drummond recipes.  Twice Baked Potatoes, Chocolate Sheet Cake and Homemade Ranch Dressing, and 20 pounds of pork to be smoked until perfect.

Who doesn't love the other white meat??

JJ, his buddy Brock and the smoker they built. We don't mess around when it comes to cooking!

I made the Ranch Dressing last night and it is amazing.  I had to remind myself that it was dressing and not soup…for some reason the spoon just kept jumping into my mouth.  Then, because I have a serious mason jar stash (thanks Pinterest) I personalized a jar just for the dressing.  Cool, huh?

In case you are curious (I’m such a mind reader), The Farm got the name “Powder River Ranch” a long time ago. It was derived from Blazer’s first ever polo pony, Powder River.  He was a sweet, gray giant that spent many days under a shady walnut tree (he was quite retired by the time I met him).  He sadly died a while ago, but had lived well into his 20’s and enjoyed many carrots throughout those years.  Anyway, I feel the need to tell that story because every time I tell people the proper name of The Farm, they are curious how it got the name, being that we are hundreds of miles away from the Powder River Basin. So…there’s your factoid for the day!

Enjoy your Friday, everyone, and I’ll see you next week with pics from our BBQ fun.

About Jenny

I'm Jenny! Living the biggest version of my life possible and working every day to be my best self. Check out Plowing Forward to learn more about me!
This entry was posted in The Farm Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave A Reply

