Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookie Trial

CakeBatterCookies6

If you can’t tell from recipes I’ve posted, I enjoy baking.  Bread, cookies, cakes and so on.  So, you wouldn’t be surprised to hear that I go crazy trying recipes I find on Pinterest.  While scanning through my pinned recipes yesterday, I stumbled upon and amazing baking blog, Sally’s Baking Addiction.  I was instantly sucked in by her amazing photos, creative recipes and use of sprinkles in almost every recipe.  I immediately located all the sprinkles I had in my baking cabinet, selected a recipe and began baking.

 Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookies were my maiden recipe from this blog.  Good decision.  The thing I like about Sally’s blog is that she creates, tests and photographs all of her own stuff.  Originality definitely pays off because the incorporation of cake mix into these cookies makes them totally irresistible.  Trust me…I’ve eaten 2 since I started writing this.  I can only imagine how crazy amazing the rest of her concoctions are.

CakeBatterCookies2

I made the cookie batter, subbing in shortening for butter.  Using the recommended technique of rolling the cookie dough taller rather than wider, I piled huge globs of cookie dough onto my parchment lined sheet.  They looked so beautiful in their doughy glory…sprinkles and all!

CakeBatterCookies1

Unfortunately, this is what they came out looking like.  Delicious, but hardly photo worthy.

CakeBatterCookies3

So, I put less cookies on the sheet, still using tall balls.  Same outcome.

CakeBatterCookies4

I guess these cookies are happier in a crowd! However, I accept full responsibility for this small flub in cookie baking.  Here’s what I should have done differently:

1) Followed the recipe and used butter instead of shortening!

2) Not used so much cookie dough for each cookie.  I guess I was greedy and wanted huge cookies so I could tell myself that eating only 1 cookie would be enough (which it wasn’t anyway, due to the deliciousness of these hummers!)

3) Use parchment paper!  I got lazy with my last 4 cookies and threw them directly on the cookie sheet.  Bad idea.

CakeBatterCookies7

Aesthetics aside, let me tell you…these cookies are to die for!  They really do taste like cake mix, the texture is more chewy than a regular chocolate chip cookie and the sprinkles that I thought were only for decoration actually add a second tiny crunch to each bite.  How come I never tried this before?  Party in your mouth, I tell you.  Party. In. Your mouth.

CakeBatterCookies5

So, the take home message here (besides to follow directions) is to check out Sally’s Blog, try this recipe, try her other recipes (and report back to me!) and buy some sprinkles.  If you are suffering from dreary weather as we are here in Iowa, your day could probably benefit from some sprinkly (is that a word?), fun, deliciousness!

About Jenny

I'm Jenny. Mom. Wife. Crafter. Baker. In Iowa. On the farm.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookie Trial

  1. trixfred30 says:

    Well done for keeping the child away from the dough before they were cooked – mine are usually snarfing the mix before i get it out of the bowl…

  2. Jenny says:

    This picture is deceiving…what you can’t see is the cup of cookie dough and spoon my son has all to himself! 🙂

Leave A Reply

