New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookies

NYBestCCC6

 

I believe everyone has a Holy Grail of some sorts in their life – you know, something they chase after but never seem to find.  For me that is the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe.  There are so many out there with so many different ingredient options!  I stumbled up on this recipe for New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookies yesterday (let’s be honest, there was no stumling – it was Pinterest).  I was intrigued by the specific ingredient measurements (like 1 cup of flour minus 1 tablespoon), so I decided to give this recipe a try.  Sure glad I did, too.  I’m dubbing it “Damn Near The Most Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe.”

Why, you ask?  The use of coarse sea salt gives them that extra layer of flavor.  Who doesn’t like a little sweet and salty?  The use of cake flour AND bread flour (no all purpose here!) makes them chewy with a crisp bottom and refrigerating it for 24 hours (or just overnight if you’re  like me and have no patience) really keeps the dough from spreading into huge flat cookies upon baking.  Have I mentioned that they taste incredible?  Because they do.  They taste exactly like I would expect “Damn Near The Most Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie” to taste.  And so did the cookie dough.

NYBestCCC2

 

Print out this recipe (from the original site, Baked By Rachel) and make sure you purchase both bread flour and cake flour before embarking on this recipe.  My tip on shopping: look for cake flour in a box, not a bag.  It took me 2 trips to the store the first time I needed cake flour because I failed to look for a box of flour the first time.

NYBestCCC4

Next impossible task…keeping cookie dough in the refrigerator for 24 hours without doing this repeatedly…

NYBestCCC3

 

Which is why I made mine yesterday around 2:30pm and baked them this morning at 9:30.  Cookies came out fine and I didn’t eat more than one or two cookies worth of dough while waiting (to be fair, I was very busy yesterday evening).  I also got lazy and didn’t roll my cookies into balls as instructed by the recipe.  Bristol (my darling 3 month old daughter who is down and out with some bug or another right now) fell asleep in my arms and I didn’t want to risk setting her down and waking her.  So, I only had one hand to make the cookie balls with.  This cheater method (my favorite cookie helping tool, a large scooper) worked just fine, although I had to let the dough get a little softer before I could dig into it.

NyBestCCC5

 

Simply put, these cookies are worth a go round if you feel like trying a little bit of a different method for baking Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I personally managed not to muck it up too badly, which speaks volumes. 🙂

NYBestCCC7

About Jenny

I'm Jenny! Living the biggest version of my life possible and working every day to be my best self. Check out Plowing Forward to learn more about me!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Samantha Lee says:

    Uhh…I’m definitely going to have to try this recipe. Chocolate chip cookies are LITERALLY my favorite thing in the world.

  2. Jenny says:

    Mine too! These are pretty awesome. 🙂

Leave A Reply

