Double Sprinkle Loaded Birthday Cookies

BirthdayCookies3

I’m not a recipe creator by any means, but I am quite fond of “adding stuff” to anything when baking – which is why I constantly obsess over chocolate chip cookie recipes.  As you have probably guessed by the copious chocolate chip cookie-type recipes I experiment with, I love making cookies.  Something about the dough and the seemingly endless amounts of things you can add to them makes me feel all warm and gooey inside (or maybe its all the cookie dough I eat that makes me feel warm and gooey…I can’t tell).  Either way, I have several recipes that I go to when the urge to bake cookies strikes.

Which recipe I use depends on the amount of time I have (my favorite recipes require chilling the dough) and the consistency I want the cookies to be.  So, when my husband asked me if I would hastily make some birthday cookies for one of the guys working on the new shop with him, I knew I needed to use this recipe for yummy cookies done quick.  It’s my “go to” recipe when I need to have chocolate chip cookies ASAP.   And, of course, you can add almost anything to them!

BirthdayCookies1

BirthdayCookies2

I like this recipe because since there is NO BUTTER (gasp! What? Don’t worry…shortening to the rescue) the cookies don’t splay out all over the place.  Since these were to be birthday cookies, I felt extremely compelled to make them extra special.  So instead of just chocolate chips, I added….

  • dark chocolate chips
  • white chocolate chips
  • butterscotch chips
  • mini m&ms
  • and sprinkles (the long, confetti looking ones).

And because I felt they weren’t celebratory enough, I dipped the tops in some more sprinkles (non pareils).  Of course all good things deserve a name, thus I’m dubbing them “Double Sprinkle Loaded Birthday Cookies.”

BirthdayCookies3

BirthdayCookies4

Here are some tips on this basic recipe for chocolate chip cookies (or Double Sprinkle Loaded Birthday Cookies if you are a crazy party animal like me):

1) Use butter flavored shortening instead of regular shortening.  I’ve tried both ways and the butter flavored shortening makes all the difference.

2) Take cookies out when still soft looking.  Since they are thin, they get crispy fast.

3) When adding all the “stuff” make sure not to overload it, but don’t skimp either!  Add a few things at a time and mix them in by hand so you can adjust your additives.  You could always measure your ingredients so the total is close to the 2 cups originally called for…but that is so not walking on the wild side!

What are some of your favorite things to add to cookies??  I always appreciate inspiration beyond my own baking cupboard.

😀



About Jenny

I'm Jenny. Mom. Wife. Crafter. Baker. In Iowa. On the farm.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Double Sprinkle Loaded Birthday Cookies

  1. These look absolutely delicious! I definitely will be trying these the next time I have a craving for chocolate chip cookies (which is pretty much every day). These will definitely be bad for my waistline, but perfect for making my day (:

    Melanie
    http://laceandcombatboots.com/

  2. Jenny says:

    Sprinkles always make my day…especially when they are doubled up! Hope you enjoy!

Leave A Reply

