My Perfect Tube Maxi For Summer

I am not a fashion-ista by any measure.

I love pre-worn clothes and 2-year-old flip flops.  I  wear jeans all the time, even when it’s 95 and humid.  I never wear shorts and I often wear workout clothes to run errands so people think I just worked out instead of assuming the truth (I haven’t showered that day and all my other clothes are still in the washing machine).

Probably twice in my life has someone come up to me and said “Oh I love what you’re wearing.” And both those times, it was probably my mom trying to make me feel good (I’m exaggerating here, but you get the point).

But that doesn’t mean I don’t have a healthy appreciation for functional, comfortable clothing that doesn’t make me look destitute.  Can’t I be comfy and cute?? So, when I find something that works for me, I go with it!

Living on a farm and staying at home all day with kids means 2 things:

1.) Getting dirty is inevitable.

2.) It does not pay off to put effort daily into my appearance because the horses, bugs and kids don’t care (and my husband never notices).

This is the first post in my “Farm Chic” category. My aim is to share with you what works for me and why.  Clothing, decor, TV shows, bathroom products, adult beverages, etc.  Pretty much miscellaneous and then some.

To kick this off, I’m sharing a dress that I recently bought in 3 different colors (because that’s how I roll…if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it – just buy it in different colors!).

The Old Navy’s Tube Maxi is comfy and pretty.  It comes in many colors and patterns, too!  I like it because you can wear it during the day or dress it up for an evening out (although the cotton material is a little casual looking for any formal affair).  It’s also a great dress to throw on over your suit and head to the pool (or pond if you live the farm life like I do).

Dress2

dress1

dress3

Super cute, right??

And I’m obsessed with these tube dresses this summer for several reasons:

1 .) I hate tan lines.  Nothing makes me feel less pretty than big white ‘seasonal tattoos’ draped all over my shoulders.

2.) I am still nursing Bristol so easy access is really handy.

3.) This particular dress doesn’t fall down.  It has plenty of hold at the top to keep you from having to constantly jerk it up (but not so much that it’s uncomfortable or too tight).  I can even lift babies over my head without fear of a ‘loose cannon’! *photo below*

4.) Drawstring waist = slender look

5.) These dresses are cheap! (The long one is $25. The short one is $15.)

26_1

So, there you have it.  My fashion recommendation of sorts.  Tube-tastic!

What do you wear the heck out of during the summer?

About Jenny

I'm Jenny. Mom. Wife. Crafter. Baker. In Iowa. On the farm.
This entry was posted in Farm Chic and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Perfect Tube Maxi For Summer

  1. trixpin says:

    Great post! Lovely looking dresses and the last picture is sweet 🙂

Leave A Reply

